The Spring Quarter Draws to a Close

Final Exam week is this coming week at Cal Poly. As the academic year winds down I am planning my summer. I have many things to accomplish and do, yet I also want to recharge.

In the spring quarter I’ve run a few experiments that are repeats from last summer. The char effects appear relatively consistent with the ones I saw last summer, so one of my summer projects is to see if I can develop a manuscript from this data.

Ajuga Photo

Ajuga cutting rooting responses to char treatments (bar = 1 cm).

I’ve been adding to my large collection of plant pictures in preparation for teaching Plant Materials I and II in the 2016-2017 academic year. One of my summer goals is to create the framework for the class and fill in as much as I can. Building the class will make the fall and spring extra busy, but I’m excited about the opportunity to do it. Recently I was walking through the Leaning Pine Arboretum and I saw several monarch butterfly larvae on an Asclepias.

Asclepias

One of the future monarch butterflies munching on Asclepias.

Back in March Pam and I went camping in Big Sur. It was a fun trip. We were nestled in among the coast redwoods, with amazing numbers of wild irises around us.

Camping1

Our campsite in the forest.

Camping2

An exquisite iris in the forest.

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

