The Gardens at Drummond Castle

During our visit to the Highlands we spent some time in Perthshire, Scotland. The draw for us was Drummond Castle, more specifically the formal gardens on the castle grounds. This was an excellent idea proposed by Lauren and Matt. I had no idea how spectacular this day would be.

Driving along Highland roads was a joy in itself. Green grass, blue sky, fluffy white clouds, rock walls, and sheep all over. The driveway leading to the castle is impressive. At least a mile long, with most of it tree-lined.

Navigating the scenic Drummund Castle driveway.

Navigating the scenic Drummond Castle driveway.

At the Drummond Castle Gardens Superadults get in for £4. I’m not sure what makes an adult super. I’d like to believe it relates to intelligence or athletic prowess, but I suspect it is merely age.

The Superadult sign.

The Superadult sign.

The doorbell at Drummond Castle is very old school.

Pam rings the doorbell.

Pam rings the doorbell.

The gardens are overwhelming at first. Formal gardens are not my favorite type of landscape, but they are certainly fun to visit. The precision and order were evident. The plant selection was exquisite. I saw species and cultivars I had never seen or heard of before. Very, very cool.

A Drummond Castle Garden panorama.

A Drummond Castle Garden panorama.

Another panorama from down in the garden.

Another panorama from down in the garden.

The garden features an obelisk sundial that was erected in 1630. You can see it in the center of the picture below.

The obelisk sundial from 1630.

The obelisk sundial from 1630.

As I walked around the garden I was like a kid in a candy store. I get that way in large gardens (and also at book sales). So much to see! I had a basic map of the grounds, with key plants identified. I walked rapidly from spot to spot, admiring and photographing plants in the large garden. My companions enjoyed the garden but played it a little cooler than me. They lounged on the grass and did some reading while I gawked at plants.

The Scotland residents in the sun, the Californian in the shade (and that's a whitebeam tree near them [Sorbus aria])..

My companions reading: the Scotland residents in the sun, the Californian in the shade (and that’s a whitebeam tree near them).

I walked around the gardens and covered the entire grounds, yet there was too much to fully take-in in the hours we were there. I took many photos. I might do a separate post in the future, just to talk about the cool specimens I got to see.

The pond at the edge of the garden.

The pond at the edge of the garden.

I can’t possibly pick a favorite plant from the garden, but one that made a strong impression on me was Acer shirasawanum ‘Aureum’ (golden full moon maple). I usually do not like yellow foliage during the growing season (only as fall foliage), but this plant was an exception. The leaves were a brilliant yellow. Sunlight streamed through them. The green grass, blue sky, and yellow leaves were perfect together. I didn’t edit the photo below–it was that brilliant.

A stunning maple.

A stunning maple.

Looking up through the leaves into the sky.

Looking up through the leaves into the sky.

The Drummond Castle Gardens are a plant lover’s paradise. I’m so glad Matt and Lauren recommended them. The day spent roaming this landscape was a delight.

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

