Sugar in Breakfast Cereal

I’ve been thinking about sugar. More specifically, I’ve been thinking about the high level of sugar that exists in the typical American diet. I’ve been examining labels and tracking my sugar intake. As a breakfast (cold) cereal aficionado I’ve spent some time reading the sides of boxes.

I find it interesting to see what percentage of the cereal is sugar by weight. It’s a bit depressing. I now understand why Honey Smacks used to be called Sugar Smacks.

Breakfast cereal percent sugar on a weight by weight basis.

Breakfast cereal percent sugar on a weight by weight basis: the top five and bottom five of the cereals I analyzed.

Calories are another interesting thing to analyze with sugar.

Y

Breakfast cereal calories and sugar per cup plotted for some common products.

I’ve also looked at sugar and protein, which I plan to post about later. Right now I don’t have time to develop this post any further. . .

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

