New Year’s Day Bacon Bowls

One of the first wedding gifts that Pam and I received was a set of bacon bowl pans. I decided to try them out for New Year’s Day brunch.

The pan is wiped down lightly with oil, then wrapped in bacon.

Two bacon bowl pans outfitted with bacon.

Two bacon bowl pans outfitted with bacon.

And after 30 minutes at 350 °F. . .

Baked bacon bowls.

Baked bacon bowls.

The bacon bowl pan catches the grease well. The upper surface looked nice and crispy when I removed them from the oven. I shut off the oven after 30 minutes, then left the bowls sit in it for another 15 minutes. Then I moved them to the counter to fully cool.

In the meantime I made a scramble with eggs, cauliflower, pepper, and cheddar cheese. This scramble was used to fill the bowl. The bowls had a tendency to tilt, but they did hold eggs reasonably well.

A bacon bowl filled with a scramble.

A bacon bowl filled with a scramble.

The New Year Day brunch.

The New Year Day brunch.

When I prepare bacon I am a firm believer in low and slow and even. I like all the bacon to be crisped but still slightly chewy. I really do not like non-crisped fat. This was the major drawback to the bacon bowls–they had rubbery spots.

The downside to the bacon bowl--non-crispy fat.

The downside to the bacon bowl–non-crispy fat.

Using thinner bacon or a longer cook time might remove the rubbery sections. I’ll try making an adjustment next time. The pans can also be used for bread bowls–which sounds very appealing.

I’ve also been wondering: if I glaze the bacon with enough sugar can I make the bowl (temporarily) watertight? And if so, what cereal or ice cream would be best suited for this bowl?

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

