Glazed Bacon for Thanksgiving

On Saturday Pam and I joined some friends for a Thanksgiving feast, which was dubbed Franksgiving (Friends + Thanksgiving). The turkeys were smoked. It the first time I had smoked turkey, and I was impressed. Stuffing, candied sweet potatoes, mashed potatoes, brussels sprouts, cranberry relish, green bean casserole, a salad, and other good things made up the meal. We also had a pie line-up after the main meal and an appetizer line-up before. I made glazed bacon.

I saw the glazed bacon recipe recently in a New York Times article (Thanksgiving Recipes Across the United States). It was the Pennsylvania entry.

I’ve baked bacon and coated it with brown sugar and pepper before, but this recipe throws Dijon mustard and red wine into the mix.

Glazed bacon drying on a sheet of tin foil.

A picture of the glazed bacon before I cut the pieces into thirds.

 

It turned out well, though it was a bit stickier than I expected. I also doubled the recipe and had a substantial amount of the glaze left over.

It’s been a long time since I worked with bacon.

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

