Another Round of Nursery Tours

I spent this week touring nurseries and talking to growers in the Central Valley and on the north-central coast.

I saw millions of plants in production.

I saw millions of plants in production.

Air pruning pots for trees: comparing two products.

Air pruning pots for trees: comparing two products.

A rainbow is an added benefit of overhead irrigation.

A rainbow is an added benefit of overhead irrigation.

It was hot in the Central Valley. During the afternoons I saw thermometers reading 105 °F. A storm knocked out power for about 20 hours in Visalia while I was there. This caused a crisis for many growers, since so many day to day functions are automated by things that use electricity.

I had some great discussions with growers about the industry, growing procedures and techniques, and product preferences. I’ve now visited 27 nurseries this summer, and my picture of the California nursery industry is beginning to come into focus.

8 Comments

Filed under General

8 responses to “Another Round of Nursery Tours

  1. Lance

    Who makes that deep round air pruning pot on the right in the middle picture? That is exactly what I need!

  2. Hi Benjamin, I have been searching online for air-pruning conical containers for quite some time and at last google guided me to you ! I think the pioneer pot design is brilliant and beats all other conical containers for seedlings. Since you have visited many nurseries, you are the right person to help me out. Are air pruning pots common in plant and tree nurseries there ? I mean rigid net pots like those from RediRoots (http://knechts.net/air-pruning-nursery-containers/) and Pioneer Pots (http://pioneerpot.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/09/pp5gps.jpg). Any idea why the regular plastic pots as seen in pic 1 seem to be more common ? Is there a widespread ignorance of air pruning benefits among plant and tree growers and hence, buyers ? Can i use your pic 2 for free, with your credit in one of my future bonsai videos ? My channel – https://m.youtube.com/user/VinnyChirayil. It is non-commercial. The ads that pop up on some videos are due to the free music i used :-)

    • Hi Vinny, thanks for visiting my site. You are welcome to use the photo. I think one reason the pots with fewer opening are common is that they tend to hold water better, meaning the plants are not as susceptible to water stress. Air pruning pots are gaining popularity. I think they are most used in tree production, which makes sense considering the value of root architecture.

Leave a Reply

