To Alabama and Back

Last week I went to the PLANET Student Career Days with the Cal Poly SLO team. Our team was comprised of 16 students and 4 faculty members serving as coaches. We drove from SLO to LAX, flew to Atlanta, then drove to Auburn.  During the trip I often doubted the time my watch reported. Here is the progression of time changes from when we departed CA to when we returned: PST, EST, CST, CST + DST, EST, PST.

We stayed at The Hotel at the University of Auburn. It was a very nice hotel, and it was conveniently located right on campus near the PLANET events. The hotel bar stocked Yuengling–which pretty much made the trip for me. I must say the hotel pool was a bit of a disappointment.

This is on the website.

This is on the website.

This was the cold reality.

This was the cold reality.

The showers at the hotel had textured floors. One of the first things that crossed my mind upon realizing this was: I wonder how they get these shower floors clean? Turns out they do not. I brought a fungus home with me, cultured nicely on my foot. I am not thrilled about this.

The PLANET SCD is a national landscape and horticulture student competition. It has a festive environment.

Max and Cody in the paver event.

Max and Cody in the paver event.

Andy and Max n the wood construction event.

Andy and Max in the wood construction event.

Sara, Chris, and Mike in the landscape installation event.

Sara, Chris, and Mike in the landscape installation event.

When I get a copy of out team photo I’ll upload it.

We finished 4th overall in the competition. Afterwards we realized a judge made a math error in our scores, so we accumulated enough points to finish 2nd. No word yet on whether PLANET will change our total.

I saw the remnants of the Toomer’s Corner Oaks. These once proud trees were killed by a rival football fan in a disgusting show of ignorance and stupidity. The dead trees will be removed this spring. A memorial service will be held for them.

One of the Toomer's Corner Oaks, killed in a senseless act of ignorance.

One of the Toomer’s Corner Oaks, killed in a senseless act of ignorance.

While in Georgia and Alabama we had some good barbeque.

I was exposed to hazardous levels of secondhand country music during the trip.

Southern blackberry cobbler is glorious.

The Urgent Care medical facility in Tigertown is very efficient.

Alabamans say “yessir” frequently.

2 Comments

Filed under General

2 responses to “To Alabama and Back

  1. Bernie

    The comment, “I was exposed to hazardous levels of secondhand country music” made me laugh out loud and triggered a memory of my road trip to the west coast (and then by air to Alaska) with your Dad and uncle Bryan when I also had the same experience. That van was rockin’ with the country tunes 24/7! Good times–and I survived!

    • I’ve found that I enjoy country music most when it is a memory. There are far worse genres of music–at least I didn’t have to listen to dubstep the entire trip.
      I’ve heard stories about that trip west and to Alaska. It sounds like it was a good time =)

Leave a Reply

