Delighting in Palm Trees

Palm trees are exotic to me. Until one month ago I’ve always lived in places with winters too cold for palm trees. My only exposure to palm trees occurred on vacation. I saw them in Florida and Hawaii. A palm tree is a botanical novelty that tells me I’m in a nice place. As my friend Louie says, “[palm trees] make me feel like I’m in paradise!”

I wonder how long that will last for me?

I now live in an area where palm trees are common. I see palm trees every day. I still enjoy them, and I still feel a measure of delight at the sight–even when I’m going to work.

I wonder when palm trees will cease to be a novelty to me?

A post shared by Benjamin (@barre7) on

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

