Grand Canyon National Park

Today I spent several hours at Grand Canyon National Park. I drove along the south rim and stopped at the vantage points. I also walked a few miles of the Rim Trail. The majesty of the Canyon is stunning.

My first look at the Grand Canyon from the top floor of The Watchtower at Desert View.

My first look at the Grand Canyon from the top floor of The Watchtower at Desert View.

The Watchtower at Desert View.

The Watchtower at Desert View.

Trees on the rim in the foreground and the canyon the background.

Trees on the rim in the foreground and the canyon the background.

grand_canyon3

Panorama 1.

Panorama 1.

Panorama 2.

Panorama 2.

Bright Angel Canyon.

Bright Angel Canyon.

The trees in and around the canyon fascinated me.

The trees in and around the canyon fascinated me.

I took hundreds of photos.

You can walk right up to the rim of the canyon in many places. I respect heights, so some of the Rim Trail made me a little tense. I’m a bit surprised there isn’t a clear liability waiver required for park entry, though maybe it is spelled out on the admission ticket. I saw several tourists climbing out on rocks that hung over the edge, and one person lost her balance and came very close to a dramatic death. As of mid-September eight people died at the Park this year, down from 21 a year ago. Nature doesn’t have airbags.

The weather was beautiful. It was cool, sunny, and breezy. At numerous times no other people were in sight, and I had lookouts and vantage points to myself. It was peaceful. Visiting Grand Canyon National Park in December is great as long as the weather cooperates (last year snow fell during the first week in December).

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

