A Brush with Storm Sandy

I was in southeastern Pennsylvania when Hurricane Sandy passed by (or whatever the storm was classified as at that time: hurricane, tropical storm, tropical depression, tropical cyclone?). Compared to neighboring areas we did not get hit very hard, though damage occurred due to flooding and high winds. Last night we lost power for about an hour. Many trees and branches fell, obstructing roads and tearing down power lines. Approximately 500,000 people in the area are without power right now according to an estimate by PECO.

Yesterday as the storm increased in fury I went outside and ran wind sprints into and with the wind. It was fun to run up hills at ridiculous speed with the wind at my back. I also managed to set a personal record:

This afternoon I took a quick drive around the area to see how the rest of the neighborhood fared. I took a few pictures, but only when I wasn’t driving. Just down the road a tree fell, stopping traffic and snapping a telephone pole (which means a power outage is coming soon).

A power outage is imminent.

Many trees have fallen. As I drove around the neighborhood I noticed that many pear trees were split apart, which is a common occurrence when that species encounters high winds.

It was a bad night for trees, especially pear trees.

When I drove by Skippack Village I saw that the power was still out. Stores were closed. Some traffic lights were dark. Everywhere I went signs were in bad shape. Billboards, business signs, and road signs were knocked over and strewn about. I also noticed, to my delight, that I did not see one political sign during my entire drive (of course this means they must be littered about somewhere, but I saw no trace of them).

The Perkiomen Creek is somewhat flooded, but I’ve seen it much worse many times. Many trees were knocked over along the stream banks.

The Perkiomen Creek is high, but not excessively flooded.

All in all we escaped Sandy’s wrath with minor damage in this area. My thoughts and prayers are with everyone dealing with power outages, flooding, wind damage, and shortages after the storm.

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

