Politics and a Book

The Presidential Debate

I watched the debate on Monday night. After listening to convention speeches and debates, I’ve reached the conclusion that written words make a stronger appeal to me than spoken words. When I listen to political campaigning and analysis it makes me feel tired and despondent. My unrest over politics is based upon a few major qualms: 1). which moral standards are universal? and 2). why are backgrounds or misspoken words more important than policies? and 3). will people step up and stand for what is right at the cost of personal ease? I have numerous posts I’d like to write about political issues, maybe after the election. . .

The Great Gatsby

While traveling to California and back last week I finally read The Great Gatsby (F. Scott Fitzgerald). I read in the book in terminals and in the air, mixed with scientific reading I was catching up on at the time. I had several motivations for reading the book. I have a 1953 Scribner’s paperback copy that I picked up at a book sale many years ago, and it has been patiently waiting on my bookshelf. I’ve read some of Fitzgerald’s short stories and found them interesting. The Great Gatsby gets referenced frequently, and I’d like to understand the references. And finally, someone once remarked that I reminded her of Gatsby; I had no idea what this meant. Having now read the book, I still have no idea why I was associated with Gatsby years ago. In the present I found myself identifying with him to a slight degree, and I most definitely rooted for him. It was a good book for me to read right now.

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

