A Few Notes on October 1st

What I’ve Been Reading

In the past several days I’ve read:
– Much Ado About Nothing (William Shakespeare)
Murder’s Web (Dorthy Dunn)
Don’t Monkey with Murder (Elizabeth Ferrars)
The A.B.C. Murders (Agatha Christie)

The string of murder mysteries are part of my quest to identify a passage that shaped my life (I have written about this passage before). I’ve dug up some of my old book collection, including some issues of Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine from the 1930s and 1940s that are prime candidates. I’ll be reading them soon, along with A Modern Treasury of Great Detective and Murder Mysteries. Maybe I’ll figure out who wrote the words that inspired me to go through life cleaning water spots from faucets.

I’ve been meaning to read Much Ado About Nothing for a long time. Now having read it, my favorite line comes from Claudio in Act 2, Scene 1. In great happiness he declares: “Silence is the perfectest herald of joy. I were but little happy if I could say how much.”

Hellman’s Mayonnaise

I like mayonnaise on sandwiches. Mayo commingled with ketchup on a cheeseburger provides a condiment synergism that is wonderful. To me the undisputed mayo champion is Hellman’s. In fact, I think Hellman’s Regular or Light Mayonnaise is better than any of their competitor’s products. It is rare that a condiment holds this status for me. I like many brands of ketchup, mustard, and relish. But Hellman’s has earned my loyalty when it comes to mayonnaise.

A Rare Leaf

Last week I was examining an Eastern redbud (Cercis chinensis), and I found a double bladed leaf. A petiole had two leaf blades attached to it. I’ve never seen this happen on a Cercis before.

The double-bladed redbud leaf.

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

