Postseason Baseball in Reading

I’ve been a baseball fan since my childhood, yet before tonight I had never attended a postseason baseball game. When the Reading Phillies secured a play-off berth this year I realized it was the perfect opportunity to remedy my glaring personal deficiency. Instead of buying a ticket to a single game I bought the full play-off package. As long as Reading is playing at First Energy Stadium this year I’ll be watching them from Yellow Box 1, Row C, Seat 1.

Tonight was Game 1 of the Eastern League Division Series. The R-Phils played the Trenton Thunder, an affiliate of the New York Yankees. Both starters cruised through the first three innings. In the top of the 4th the Thunder took a 2-0 lead. Brett Marshall started for Trenton, and he threw four innings of no-hit baseball. And then Jake Fox led off the 5th inning with a long home run to left. The Phils would add another run on a ground out, tying the game. Things broke open in the 7th, with back-to-back solo homers providing a 4-2 Phillies lead. Justin Friend threw a scoreless 9th to pick up the save (he had a 0.23 ERA in 40 IP during the regular season, with 24 saves!).

 

Play-off baseball under the lights.

I’ll be back for Game 2 tomorrow night, and I’ll take my camera. . .

Leave a comment

Filed under General, Sports

Leave a Reply

