Staying at The Longwood Inn

During my visit to Boston last week I stayed at The Longwood Inn in Brookline, MA. The Longwood Inn is a 1900s Victorian mansion that has been converted to an inn. It has excellent rates for the area and offers free off street parking for guests. After my experience in Cooperstown this place felt like a palace.

The front of The Longwood Inn.

The inn has a wifi connection available throughout the building and on the deck and patio. Both the brick patio in front of the building and deck on the rear of the building feature cafe style tables.

The back of The Longwood Inn.

I did not take many pictures of the inside of the building–and the ones I have were shot quickly with my phone. The lobby has a nice fireplace and woodwork. It definitely feels like an old mansion.

The lobby of The Longwood Inn.

The dining room in The Longwood Inn.

The kitchen is open to all guests. Everything placed in the refrigerator must be labeled, and dishes that are used must be washed. During my stay the kitchen was very clean, and it was a nice perk to have it available.

The kitchen in The Longwood Inn.

My room was on the third floor. It was small but very comfortable. The quality of the furniture and fixtures was very good, and the room was very clean. The mattress was like a cloud with good lumbar support. The shower had excellent water pressure and the water heated in seconds. Some guests staying on the third floor might not like the narrow staircase, and the fact that guests are expected to transport their own luggage, but I didn’t mind that at all.

My room at The Longwood Inn.

I found the staff to be pleasant. They were helpful and available, yet they gave their guests space. Since I have no problem doing things myself or initiating conversations if I need something, I didn’t mind this at all.

One of the great things about The Longwood Inn is the location. It is a pleasant 1.1 mile walk to Fenway Park. The Arnold Arboretum is a 3.0 mile walk away. The Boston Common (and the start of The Freedom Trail) is a 2.8 mile walk from the inn. There is a Trader Joe’s 0.4 miles from the inn on Beacon Street. Numerous restaurants are within walking distance. I recommend the Corrib Pub if you want a nice drink selection and classic pub food. I noticed that there are bus stops within a couple of blocks of the inn too. The Emerald Necklace is very close to the inn, which offers great trails for walking, running, or biking along the Riverway.

I thoroughly enjoyed my time at The Longwood Inn, and I recommend it if you are visiting Boston.

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

