A Quick Walk in the Arboretum

This afternoon I spent some time on campus. On my way home I stopped at the PSU arboretum to take a quick walk and take a few pictures. Here are a few of them:

One of the first plants I saw was Indigofera kirilowii, which is called Kirilow indigo. I had not seen this plant before, so it captured my attention.

Indigofera kirilowii at the Penn State Arboretum.

I like the long-blooming and pest-resistant landscape shrub roses that are now on the market. They have weird cultivar names (the one I admired today was called Rosa ‘Bucbi’), and the name that is used most often is not the correct botanical name, but rather the trademarked name. So for this plant it is Carefree Beauty™. The rise of trademarked names that do not conform to the rules for botanical nomenclature might make things really confusing in the future–when all the dominant ornamental plants carry botanical names, common names, and trademarked names. I think known aliases might be a field in future plant identification guides.

With this rose, I like how it is so pretty, yet so rugged. This flower has been open for quite some time. I bet no pesticides were sprayed on it (old-fashioned roses must be baptized with pesticides frequently to remain presentable).

A Carefree Beauty™ rose in the Penn State Arboretum.

Dianthus flowers are often referred to as pinks. Take a look at the picture below, can you guess why they are called pinks? (Hint: it has nothing to do with color.)

Pinks in the Penn State Arboretum.

The flowers are called pinks because . . . drum roll . . . the edges of the petals appear to have been cut with a pinking shears.

 

A red hot poker plant.

I like many plants, and if I make a list of my favorites it would get ridiculously long, but I must say that I like red hot poker plants. Poker plants are from the genus Kniphofia. I like how the inflorescence (composite of flowers), which is a spike, has a gradient of color from top to bottom.

Leave a comment

Filed under Horticulture, Photos

Leave a Reply

