Baboons Identifying Words?

I read an article on BBC Nature that made me smile. French researchers have trained baboons to recognize four letter words. While I wish this meant the baboons were reading, it appears it is simply memorization of shapes to earn food. Still, this is an interesting development. (Here is the article: Baboons recognize words on a screen).

When I read this my first thought was: I guess it won’t be long until I start seeing baboons at Borders.

But then I thought: Oh, that will never happen. Borders went out of business.

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

