A Few Random Things

The Return of the Raging Chlorophyll

I drafted my fantasy baseball team on Saturday. This was the first year the league I am in had keepers returning, so that added some intrigue to the draft. I had Votto, Halladay, and Granderson as my keepers from last year.  Here is my roster:

Round    Overall    Player, Team, Position
1 8 Joey Votto, Cin 1B  
2 17 Roy Halladay, Phi SP  
3 32 Nelson Cruz, Tex OF  
4 41 Jimmy Rollins, Phi SS  
5 56 Yovani Gallardo, Mil SP  
6 65 Rickie Weeks, Mil 2B  
7 80 Curtis Granderson, NYY OF  
8 89 Corey Hart, Mil OF  
9 104 Chris Young, Ari OF  
10 113 Jose Valverde, Det RP  
11 128 J.J. Putz, Ari RP  
12 137 Ryan Roberts, Ari 2B  
13 152 Doug Fister, Det SP  
14 161 Ryan Howard, Phi 1B  
15 176 Scott Baker*, Min SP  
16 185 Kendrys Morales, LAA 1B  
17 200 Tim Stauffer, SD SP  
18 209 Kurt Suzuki, Oak C  
19 224 John Mayberry Jr., Phi OF  
20 233 Brett Myers, Hou SP  
21 248 Ian Desmond, Wsh SS  
22 257 John Buck, Mia C  
23 272 Chris Carpenter*, StL SP  

I like my team, though the draft did not go as I planned (that seems to happen most years). I overpaid for Rollins, but I did that as a tribute to him for staying in Philly. I really wanted to draft Gallardo and Morales, so I’m glad that worked out. I’m hoping Chris Carpenter is able to return to action and become 23rd round gold. Baseball is back!

Reading Matthew Henry

I’ve been browsing through some old books recently, and I read something Matthew Henry wrote in the late 1600s or early 1700s. “Great affection to any creature does but prepare for so much the greater affliction, when it is either removed from us, or imbittered to us; inordinate love commonly ends in immoderate grief; as much as the sway of the pendulum throws one way, so much it will throw the other way.” – Matthew Henry. This is all the more poignant considering Katherine Henry, Matthew’s first wife, died at the age of 25 before they were married for two years. So when is love no longer set in order–becoming inordinate? When is grief excessive–becoming immoderate?

Called Out of the Dark

I enjoy listening to Snow Patrol. The latest single they released is Called Out of the Dark.

The part that the background rhythm guitarist plays from 2:04-2:36 in the video above makes me smile. I like it. This song is great in its unplugged form, performed live, or the polished studio cut.

2 Comments

Filed under General

2 responses to “A Few Random Things

  1. Anonymous

    “To love at all is to be vulnerable. Love anything and your heart will be wrung and possibly broken. If you want to make sure of keeping it intact you must give it to no one, not even an animal. Wrap it carefully round with hobbies and little luxuries; avoid all entanglements. Lock it up safe in the casket or coffin of your selfishness. But in that casket, safe, dark, motionless, airless, it will change. It will not be broken; it will become unbreakable, impenetrable, irredeemable. To love is to be vulnerable.”

    • I agree that love makes us vulnerable and exposes us to hurt–and that is not a bad thing. I do not think there is anything wrong with grief, especially in response to the loss of someone loved. My questions are (well, just a few of my many questions), what does inordinate love look like? How do we love purely and in order?

Leave a Reply

