Are Catalogs Going Extinct Soon?

When I receive a catalog in the mail it makes me marvel. Store catalogs and circulars seem very impractical, wasteful, and outdated to me. It’s been a long, long time since I purchased anything inspired by a catalog. I order many products from mail order companies, but I always browse products and place orders on the web. Despite this I receive a barrage of catalogs. Today two arrived in my mailbox.

It was a day for initials.

Considering the cost that goes into producing and shipping these catalogs I find it difficult to believe they are profitable. I wonder how much was invested to send me the two I received today and promptly threw into the garbage?

So my questions are:

1. Do you order things from catalogs?

2. How long do you think they will continue to exist?

When catalogs show up in my mailbox I think: Oh! There’s a Triceratops! And a Brachiosaurus! (I think they’re dinosaurs.)

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

