In the Middle of Spring Break

This week is spring break at Penn State. That does not mean vacation for me. I have writing and data analysis to accomplish, plus miscellaneous tasks that I accumulated by thinking I’ll take care of that over spring break. The weather has been beautiful. I’m beginning to wonder if it is just to spite me as I sit inside and stare at screens. This afternoon I broke down and went running because I decided the weather was too nice to squander. It was the right thing to do.

Some of my time has been spent pondering this [1] :

Figure 1. A story in numbers.

If you plot the means from these charts you get this:

Figure 2. A rather deceptive chart.

What you see in Figure 2 fails to clearly convey what is happening in the plants. The response of Plant B to flooding tends to fall into one of two camps. The plant either declines as fast as Plant A or seems to be mostly unaffected. So you don’t really see an intermediate response from this plant. It’s all in or all out.

I have lofty goals for the remainder of this week.

I am also ready for a vacation.

[1]. Well, sort of that. I removed the unit of measurement and modified some of the information to obscure the data a bit. I don’t want to reveal too much before I publish it.

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

