Another Fish: Swai

My fish appreciation initiative continued today. I picked up swai (or sawai) fillets. Before seeing the fillets for sale I had never heard of swai. Based upon the price I knew it was a lowbrow fish, but I thought I’d give it a try anyway. It turns out swai is the name for the meat of the fish species Pangasius hypophthalmus. Additional common names for this fish species include iridescent shark and shark catfish. If they had called these fillets iridescent shark I would have been more excited about buying them.

For dinner tonight I dusted a fillet with salt and pepper and baked it at 375° F for a bit, then coated it with honey and pepper and seared it in a frying pan for a few minutes.

The iridescent shark is served.

I am very surprised how smoothly fish is fitting into my diet. I’m still on the mild end of the flavor scale, but so far things have been good.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

