The Steel Wheels

Last week I saw a band name that caught my eye: The Steel Wheels. I listened to a few live performances of songs from their album Red Wing, and promptly decided I needed to buy the album. The best way I can think to describe their music is to say it sounds old. Not in a bad way, like old folk and old country, good Americana music. Acoustic guitars, an upright bass, a violin, a mandolin, a banjo, vocal harmonies. Good, good stuff.

Here is the first video I saw, Dance Me Around the Room.

I followed it up with Red Wing.


And I had to buy the album.

It turns out the band members are Mennonites. Considering their ties with Harrisonburg, Virginia I suspect I know people they know.

I love finding new bands to listen to.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music

Leave a Reply

