Building Charts

I enjoy working with graphics and visual presentation. Making charts for manuscripts, however, is tedious. Right now I’m running tests and working on formatting a few charts. Tonight I spent three hours working on a chart that I have just scrapped [1]. One thing scientific writing has given me is an appreciation for a concise and clear chart. I don’t look right past those anymore. Yeah, building charts is tedious.

On the bright side, this chart work is only possible because I have resolved one of my data analysis problems. So there’s that.

I’m going to work on something else tonight and resume the chart work tomorrow. Sometimes the best thing you can do is let a project rest for a moment.

[1] I think of Papa Bear from the Berenstain Bears: “This is what you must never do, now let that be a lesson to you.”

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

