iPhone File Transfer with Phone Drive

The iPhone interface.

One of my biggest pet peeves with the iPhone is how difficult it is to transfer files. I might be missing something, but I have still not found an application that allows my phone to function like a flash drive. I like Dropbox for backing up files and having some degree of portability, but the fact that an internet connection is needed to view files and the program must be installed on any system to be transferred to is a major problem.

Recently I decided to try out the free version of Phone Drive. An wireless connection is needed to load and transfer files, but the only software needed is installed on the iPhone. The free version has a ten file limit, the full version (on sale right now for 99 cents) does not have this limitation.

When I tried Phone Drive out I was very impressed by how quickly the files loaded onto my phone, even high resolution pictures. I was able to transfer the files to a PC and a Mac without trouble. Neither of them had Phone Drive installed.

The PC interface.

I’m not sure if there is a good way to put files already on the iPhone into the Phone Drive folder (I was not able to do this). I still have not tried working with Phone Drive in iTunes with my laptop via a USB cable.

Until I find a better alternative I’ll be using Phone Drive to transport and transfer files.

1 Comment

Filed under General

One response to “iPhone File Transfer with Phone Drive

  1. Joe Ingraldi

    I have app on both iPhone and iPad. Do you know how to transfer files via Bluetooth. The app has the function, just don’t know how to do it. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

