Quotes of Which I am Fond

I like good quotes. Unfortunately I am terrible at memorizing things verbatim, so I am forced to paraphrase or butcher timely references. Here are a few of my favorite quotes with brief commentary.

“Far from the madding crowd’s ignoble strife.” – Thomas Gray

This might be my favorite phrase. I love the idea of escaping all the surrounding chaos and vain activity. When I am alone or with good friends, and I am content, I think of myself as far from the madding crowd and the ignoble strife that comes with it.

“So that happened.” – Alec Baldwin (State and Main)

Understated and concise, with a dash of humor. I’ve used this line many times.

“Music has sounds for it–I know no words.” – George Eliot (Leo in Armgart)

Words are wonderful, but some things defy description. I think of this line when I hear music that creates a mood. It might have soaring crescendos, ominous minors, or a light and lilting melody. I also think of the line when I can’t find words to say what I’m thinking.

“Truth has rough flavours if we bite it through.” – George Eliot (The Graf in Armgart)

The truth hurts at times. Yes, it can set us free, but it has a tendency to remind us that we’re not perfect, the people around us aren’t perfect, and the world around us isn’t perfect.

“You get older and blame turns to shame.” – Josh Todd (“Sorry”)

When I think of the music of Buckcherry I do not immediately think of wisdom and good counsel. Most of their songs celebrate vice and excess with no consequences. But the song Sorry contains this line. I think it’s great.

“In the depths of winter I finally learned that there was in me an invincible summer.” – Camus

Sometimes the winter is long.

“If your everyday life seems poor, don’t blame it; blame yourself; admit to yourself that you are not enough of a poet to call forth its riches; because for the creator there is no poverty and no indifferent place.” – Rainer Rilke

At times I feel in tune to the beauty that is around me. Yet those times are too infrequent. How can I be bored or detached?


Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

