Pumpkin Pie in Holiday Songs?!

I associate pumpkin pie with Thanksgiving. This is not a loose association. Seeing a pumpkin pie any time other than late November surprises me. In my mind pumpkin pie is seasonal like candy corn, peeps, and eggnog.

Christmas music is also seasonal to me. My window for Christmas music is December 10 through December 25. But this year I did not follow my own rule. I began listening to Christmas music on December 6 this year (and my heart grew three sizes that day). Something jumped out at me as I listened to the festivity on Pandora and AccuRadio. Something I had never noticed before while listening to Christmas music. Pumpkin Pie.

Pumpkin pie? What?

In the space of two hours I heard three references to the pie of the fall. I had no idea it was considered Christmas and New Year fare. Here are the songs I heard:

1.  There’s No Place Like Home for the Holidays
I met a man who lives in Tennessee, and he was headin’ forPennsylvania and some homemade pumpkin pie . . .
2. Sleigh Ride
“There’s a happy feeling nothing in the world can buy when they pass around the coffe and the pumpkin pie.”
3. Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree
“Rocking around the Christmas tree, let the Christmas spirit ring. Later we’ll have some pumpkin pie, and we’ll do some caroling.”

How did I fail to notice this before?

I have two questions for you:

1. Do you associate pumpkin pie with Christmas or New Year’s Day?

2. Do you know any other Christmas songs that feature pumpkin pie?

That is all.

3 Comments

Filed under General

3 responses to “Pumpkin Pie in Holiday Songs?!

  1. Anonymous

    I just made a fresh pumpkin pie today from the (green neck) pumpkin I had cooked and pureed before Thanksgiving. I made a pumpkin roll for our Hoover family dinner but never got around to making a pie until today…somehow it seems extra special on this crisp wintery night.
    Bernie

    • I’m thinking pumpkin pie makes a lot of sense as a fall and winter dessert. Yes, it sounds lovely on this crisp wintery night. I’m not sure why it has such a strong association with Thanksgiving in my mind.

  2. Anni

    I laughed about this with my sister today as my parents have some left over pumpkins from thanksgiving. Why not make pumpkin pie I say. Pumpkin pie? She asked. Yeah, it’s in a bunch of Christmas songs I’ve heard for years, but never paid attention. Oh that’s weird. It sure is, I said. Well make it then. Ok. Hahahaha.

Leave a Reply

