SCEFC Set List: September 18, 2011

On Sunday I’ll be serving as the worship leader at State College E-Free Church. The message will be derived from I Peter 2:4-10. The part that sticks with me is verse nine: “But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people belonging to God, that you might declare the praises of Him who called you out of darkness into His wonderful light.”

Prelude: (E) Be Still My Soul – Katharina von Schlegel

This song serves as a reminder to still my soul, to put aside the things that fight for my attention, and reflect on the confident hope that I have been given. I’m planning to modify the melody a bit, and I have added a chorus that is simply “Be still my soul!” repeated several times over a I, IV, VIm, V chord pattern. (I was singing the U2 song One, the version recorded with Mary J. Blige,  and playing around with improvised vocal parts when it occurred to me that it would make a good chorus for this hymn.)

I’m planning to open the main set by reading the first seven verses of Psalm 145.

(G) Holy is the Lord – Chris Tomlin | Louie Giglio

(G) Hallelujah (Your Love Makes Me Sing) – Brenton Brown | Brian Doerkson

(A) Marvelous Light – Charlie Hall

(A) Majesty – Martin Smith | Stuart Garrard

Following the sermon there will be a response song.

(E) How Can I Keep from Singing? – Chris Tomlin | Ed Cash | Matt Redman

Closing Song: (E) Sing to the King – Billy Foote | Charles Silvester Horne

Last week when I was at the Bellevue Botanical Gardens I was struck by the beauty and majesty of the forests. I uttered “My God, this is beautiful” when I first looked up through the canopy and saw the sunlight. I love those moments of awe, when a response of worship is a reflex. On a regular basis I encounter things that should strike me just as strongly, yet I am calloused and my heart is out of tune. May my heart be tuned, may my eyes be open, and may I remain sensitive to that which is deserving of my awe.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music, Spiritual, Worship Leading

Leave a Reply

