Kubota Garden

One of my goals during my few days in Washington was to see a lot of plants. On Sunday morning I went to the Kubota Garden in Seattle. It was well worth the time. No plants were labeled, so I had to dig deep into my mental plant database to identify plant genera. Many plants stumped me; I had to resort to taking pictures of distinctive features so I could figure out their identities later.

Kubota Garden in Seattle, WA.

Kubota Garden in Seattle, WA.

The garden had natural areas, formal beds, water features, hardscaping, and paths. Many, many alluring paths. They were often narrow and winding, just turning out of sight. After I had been at the garden  almost two hours I thought I had seen all it had to offer, then I followed a small path through a wooded area and found another section of gardens bigger than everything I had already seen.

How could you not explore this path?

As I explored the garden I kept remarking: “Oh, wow!” or “Look at that Epimedium!” or What is that?!” or “This is so cool!” I was in plant nerd heaven. I really liked the heather. I had not seen such large, healthy plantings of Erica before.

The heather was glorious.

I stopped to take a picture by one of the smaller plantings. I chose this location in part because the garden had been set on fire recently, Some of the heather and a few other plants, including the tree on the left, were burnt.

Notice the charred tree on the left.

There were hydrangeas in bloom all over. I saw many species I knew, and a few I did not. Hydrangea flowers are beautiful. If I had to pick a favorite plant genus I think it might be Hydrangea.

A blue lace cap hydrangea inflorescence that caught my eye.

I saw an impressive tree that I could not identify.

Who are you?

Arbutus menziesii, called Pacific madrone, is found on the West Coast and not the East Coast. It has bark that is more impressive than many flowers.

I saw many things growing on other things. There were lichens and fungi and mosses all over. All the moisture in Washinton is conducive to this.

Things growing on things.

More things growing on things.

I enjoyed my time in the Kubota Garden. It was great to see new plants and familiar plants in an environment so different from what I am accustomed to. After hours wandering through a garden I went back to my hotel to get ready to attend a wedding in another garden that evening. What a good day.

2 Comments

Filed under General

2 responses to “Kubota Garden

  1. Chris

    This year, our Kubota members grew no fewer than 22 things on top of other things.

Leave a Reply

