Exploring Seattle

Today was dedicated to seeing Seattle. It was an absolutely beautiful day. The weather was heavenly. My Aunt Faith joined me to visit some of the key tourist spots, like the Pikes Place Market and the Space Needle. After we parked and started walking to the market I noticed an honest beggar. His sign read: “I Need Money for Weed *Please.” It was the first of many marijuana/weed/cannabis references I would see in Seattle. I’m not sure if that is normal, or if the music festival[1] that was going on contributed to it.

I need money.

By the main entrance to the market a guy was playing a strange instrument. It looked and sounded unlike anything I have seen or heard before.

The musician with his unique instrument.

The market was impressive. Flowers, produce, and seafood were plentiful. I was amazed at how spectacular and how cheap the cut flowers were. I almost bought a bouquet for my hotel room.

Flowers on display.

Produce on display.

The fish throwing was impressive, but I failed to capture it with pictures. I also failed to capture the priceless moment when a large halibut was thrown at a horrified tourist as a joke.

Fish were flying, though not in this picture.

On the walls of the outer market building on the river side there were some interesting light fixtures. Guys holding light bulbs.

Interesting light fixtures.

We stopped by Post Alley to see the gum wall. I wish I had contributed to it, but I did not.

The gum wall.

The plants in Washington have impressed me. I really liked the developed rooftop gardens and green roofs.

An impressive rooftop garden.

Even though I am not a coffee drinker I enjoyed stopping by the original Starbucks.

The original Starbucks.

After exploring the market area and having lunch at Lowell’s [2] we moved on to the Space Needle.

The Space Needle.

When I saw the Needle I was surprised. I envisioned it being bigger and in closer proximity to large buildings. Going up in it was not a disappointment, the view was what I had hoped for, but from the ground it didn’t impress me like I thought it would.

Having a bird’s eye view of a city is very cool. I enjoyed watching the movement taking place. The distant views of mountains and bodies of water were also spectacular.

Seattle!

We got to see a rare sight, billows of smoke rising from a mountain range. When I first saw it I thought maybe it was a volcano erupting. But then we learned it was smoke from the Olympic National Forest wildfire. One of the guides told us that the smoke only became visible a short time before we ascended the Needle.

The Olympic National Forest wildfire.

One of my favorite scenes was Lake Union. Many boats were out, and pontoon planes were landing and taking off for tours. It was fun to watch.

Lake Union in Seattle.

It was a nice morning and afternoon in Seaatle. After the sightseeing I dropped my Aunt Faith off at her hotel and returned to mine.

I then went on a long run to burn off my excess energy. After which I went to The Keg steakhouse near my hotel, where I had a couple local brews with a prime rib sandwich (Manny’s Pale Ale by Georgetown Brewing and  an amber by Mac & Jacks). Excellent on all accounts.

So far I have loved Seattle.

[1] It was the Bumbershoot Music Festival, and it drew a lot of people who liked herbs and dying their hair.

[2] The grilled chicken, bacon, and swiss cheese sandwich is a good thing.

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

