SCEFC Set List: August 28, 2011

This is the first time I am posting a set list after it has been used. Last week I never got around to posting the list beforehand. It was not because the list came together at the last minute, I had most of it together well ahead of time, and I finished it on Monday. On Sunday morning I was sitting on my couch drinking tea and thinking (a common morning routine, during which I often take inventory) and I suddenly realized I had neglected to post my set list here. When this thought crossed my mind I remembered a paraphrase of something someone once told me: “When you think everyone is noticing what you did or didn’t do, relax, you’re probably overestimating your importance.” No one will even notice that this week slipped by without a list; I’ll just post a list next time. I thought to myself.

The advice was right, not everyone noticed the lack of a list. But some people did. It came up in conversation after the service.

So here is the story of a list that has been sung.

Prelude: (A) God You Reign – Lincoln Brewster | Mia Fieldes
Song 1: (E) You are Holy – Mark Imboden | Tammy Rhoton
Song 2: (D) Desert Song – Brooke Fraser
Song 3: (A) You are God Alone – Billy Foote | Cindy Foote
Song 4: (E) Be Thou My Vision – Dallan Forgaill | Eleanor Henrietta Hull | Mary Elizabeth Byrne
Closing: (A) It is Well with My My Soul – Horatio G. Spafford | Philip Paul Bliss

When I was putting the set list together I knew the main theme of the sermon that morning would be hope. I’ve been meditating on hope recently, and I have a lot of questions and thoughts.

  • Many of my strongest hopes deal with my own temporal happiness and comfort.
  • I often sabotage my happiness by making poor decisions and poor value judgments.
  • My eternal hope is much greater than temporal happiness and it is secure.
  • I need to seek guidance and wisdom to align my hopes.

I read two short passages during the set list. One was Zephaniah 3:17, “The LORD your God is with you, He is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you, He will quiet you with His love, He will rejoice over you with singing.” This verse comes in the context of judgment and hope for Judah. The nation is about to face self-induced pain, yet they are reminded of the hope of redemption. The second passage was Psalm 25:4-5, “Show me Your ways, LORD, teach me Your paths. Guide me in Your truth and teach me, for You are God my Savior, and my hope is in You all day long.” I like this reminder of where hope lies, and it also references the importance of asking for, and growing in, wisdom.

This set list affirms that God reigns, He is holy, and He is God alone. It looks to Him as out victory, our vision, our wisdom, and our treasure. The closing song drives it all home. It is well with my soul. That doesn’t mean I am happy (I could be happy, but that is beside the point). It means I know where my hope lies, and even when life is difficult I know I can hold onto that promise. I might hurt, I might feel crushed, but it is well with my soul because I know I am secure. In the moments when life hurts my prayer is to be granted the vision to see that it is well with my soul.

Leave a comment

Filed under Spiritual, Worship Leading

Leave a Reply

