SCEFC Set List: August 14, 2011

This Sunday I’ll be serving as the worship leader at State College E-Free Church. When I put the set list together I did not know the theme of the message, but I have since learned it will be the launch of a sermon series on hope. I’ve been thinking about hope recently. Primarily, what can we hope for on a scriptural basis? What things do I want to count as hopes, but in reality they are more like wishes? How can I align my hopes with what is right and true?

I’m considering starting the service with a brief meditation on the word hallelujah. Defining it, using it, and thinking about it. It will figure prominently in the last song of the main set. Words like hallelujah and hosanna get used like garnishes in church too often, decorations devoid of substance. But they have powerful meanings. The word hallelujah is not a small piece of fresh parsley, it’s a full-fledged entrée.

Prelude: (D) Holy – Brenton Brown

Over the summer I participated in a study of Revelation. One of the things emphasized in Revelation is that God is just. This has been on my mind. In this song there is a line that states: “Everything You’ve done is just and true . . .” I like to affirm that, to say that, and to think about that.

Song #1: (A) Our God – Chris Tomlin | Jesse Reeves | Jonas Myrin | Matt Redman

Song #2: (A) You Never Let Go – Matt Redman | Beth Redman

Song #3: (G) Enough – Chris Tomlin

Song #4: (C) Before the Throne of God Above – Charitie Lees Bancroft | Vikki Cook

Closing: (G) Jesus Messiah – Chris Tomlin | Daniel Carson | Ed Cash | Jesse Reeves

All in all this has been a rather challenging week. I feel rather tired and more than a bit burnt out. I’m excited about serving as the worship leader on Sunday, but I have not had as much preparation time as I would like. Sometimes these are the most rewarding times as a leader, when I feel bruised and spent.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music, Spiritual, Worship Leading

Leave a Reply

