The Role of a Wedding Guest

I went to a wedding this past Saturday. It was a good time. During the day, or leading up to it, I never deliberately thought about my role as a wedding guest.

Last night I spent some time reading commentaries on Revelation, preparing to lead a discussion on chapters 19 and 20 tomorrow night. Chapter 19 speaks of the wedding of the Lamb. One of the authors I was reading mentioned something that intrigued me:

“Weddings are generally characterized by joy, and ancient sources emphasize the responsibility of wedding guests to promote the newlywed’s joy.” – Craig Keener (The NIV Application Commentary: Revelation)

I had never thought about having a role or responsibility as a guest at a wedding before (besides showing up and bringing a gift). It makes sense. This leads me to wonder: as a guest how can I promote joy?

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

