July 4th on the 2nd

I took very few pictures yesterday at my family’s Independence Day picnic. It was a good time: picnic foods, swimming, baseball, conversations, and a pinata.

With the pinata the usual routine is to start with the youngest family member hitting it with a bat, then proceed upward. This year the pinata (decorated like a pineapple) must have had a few extra layers in it, for instead of giving out in the middle-cousins it lasted through all the cousins, only yielding to Uncle Ned’s Babe Ruth impression.

Early in the pinata destruction.

Still holding up.

The moment of impact: the end of the pinata.

I’m glad the picnic was on the 2nd, for I’ll be spending the 4th at my field site. Maybe I should take some sparklers and smoke bombs for my firs.

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

