SCEFC Set List: June 19, 2011

On Sunday I’ll be serving as the worship leader at State College E-Free Church. A sermon series on Ruth will be starting that day, and so I’ve been thinking about that book (particularly the role Naomi plays). I’m struck by the inevitability of pain in life.  I’ve also been thinking about Paul’s words in Romans when he talks about rejoicing in suffering because it produces endurance, which produces character, which produces hope. We can have hope because Christ died for us while we were still sinners.

Prelude: (G) God of Wonders – Marc Byrd | Steve Hindalong
Song 1: (E) You are Holy (Prince of Peace) – Marc Imboden | Tammy Rhoton
Song 2: (E) None but Jesus – Brooke Fraser
Song 3: (E) O for a Thousand Tongues to Sing – Charles Wesley | Carl G. Gläser
Song 4: (A) It is Well with My Soul – Horatio G. Spafford | Philip Paul Bliss

Closing: (A) One Pure and Holy Passion – Mark Altrogge

My practice time has been cut down a bit due to the fact that I injured my wrist attempting to move a throw pillow this week. Yes, you read that right. I hurt myself attempting (not succeeding) to move a pillow. It is an embarrassing story, but I have enough extra dignity to sacrifice some of it in the retelling.

I was reading with a pillow sitting beside me on my left. Being a warm evening, at some point the thought entered my mind I should move that pillow away from me. And so, absentmindedly I reached over with my right hand and flicked the pillow, intending to roll it away from me. But I was sitting on the edge of that pillow. The tips of my fingers contacted the pillow; it did not budge. My hand bent backwards to a scary degree. One of the faithful tendons in my wrist was very offended by this and decided to commence screaming. My attention suddenly went from my book to my wrist. I’d equate the pain to that of a “brain freeze” acquired from eating something cold too quickly, not unbearable but not pleasant. Since that incident my wrist has been rather sore and unreliable. I can barely write, and my typing is done without moving my wrist (so this post took way too long to write). Playing the guitar with an immobile wrist is tough (though it is a good thing my right wrist is the one mad at me, for the left one is essential). I’m hoping we’re on better terms tomorrow.

Moral of the story: Do not underestimate the potential menace posed by a throw pillow.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music, Spiritual, Worship Leading

Leave a Reply

