A New Running Experience

I ran farther  this afternoon than I have in a long time. It was a nice day to run. Something happened during my run that I have thought about, but never experienced before this afternoon.

When I run on the bike trail there are often animals nearby. Here is a list of creatures I have passed at very close range so far this year:

  • Humans
  • Deer
  • Dogs
  • Cats
  • Hawks
  • Buzzards
  • Snakes
  • Groundhogs
  • Rabbits
  • Skunks
  • Squirrels
  • Chipmunks
  • Moles

It’s a jungle out there.

I’ve wondered: What would happen if a creature veered onto the path in front of me and a collision ensued? Before today I have had close calls with a snake, a groundhog, a cat, and a chipmunk. But no actual contact was made. Until today.

This afternoon I encountered a chipmunk on the trail. It darted in front of me, directly under foot. I stepped on it. As soon as my foot started to hit the chipmunk I stopped putting weigh on it, causing me to come dangerously close to faceplanting on the trail as I suddenly hopped back to my off foot. I staggered very awkwardly, turning to see if the little creature was okay (it seemed fine, I think my reaction was quick enough to prevent it from getting much weigh put on it). I managed to twist my knee in the process, so I’m curious how that will feel tomorrow. Not exactly a good injury story. I was out running and a chipmunk beat me up on the bike trail.

Now that I’ve collided with a chipmunk I’m ready for a mid-size creature (e.g. groundhog, cat, or skunk). By the end of the summer maybe I’ll be ready to take on a deer?

1 Comment

Filed under General

One response to “A New Running Experience

  1. The key is to view small creatures as hurdles. Learn to jump and collisions will be avoided.

    (I’m leaving this comment to test the new Facebook account commenting option.)

Leave a Reply

