Planting and Waiting

Today I planted 1,120 Fraser firs at Rock Springs. Later this summer I will kill many of them in the name of research.

My soil remediation experiment in Spartansburg is still being held up by the weather. The original plan was to plant in March, but it rained. So I rescheduled for early April, but it rained. So I rescheduled for mid April, but it rained. Then I rescheduled for late April, but it rained. Then I rescheduled for early May, but it rained. Currently I am targeting next week, and we will do the planting in the rain if necessary (the rescheduling is getting ridiculous).

An aside: I love the feeling that comes with finishing a book. And not just when the book is completed, but the impending conclusion is great too. For instance, I have about 50 pages left in the book I am reading right now. As soon as I post this I am going to brew a mug of strawberry-pomegranate rooibus tea and savor the ending of my book. I’ve been looking forward to it all day. Ah, sweet resolution.

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

