SCEFC Set List: April10, 2011

This coming Sunday I’ll be serving as the worship leader at State College E-Free Church. The message for the morning examines priorities in response to the cross.

Prelude: (A) Blessed Be Your Name – Matt Redman & Beth Redman

I’ve been thinking a lot about denial of self recently. In life some things that do not go as planned. Sometimes when my plans and desires are thwarted it hurts. Being able to hold my own will loosely is challenging. Regardless of my circumstances God is good. In the fulfillment of my desires God is good; in the times when I feel broken God is good.

Song #1: (A) Our God – Chris Tomlin, Jesse Reeves, Jonas Myrin, & Matt Redman

This is a song of praise to begin the main set. Our God is greater, stronger, and higher than any other. We praise Him as our healer who is for us and with us.

Song #2: (A) Marvelous Light – Charlie Hall

This is the story of being changed. I once was lost in darkness, but now I am found and running to light. In the light of truth I see the beautiful message of the cross. My dead heart now beats, and I am free. The  examination of my priorities in response to the cross is not meant to be a burden. It is not meant to be oppressive. Denying myself lead to a fullness, though I may struggle to see that right now.

Song #3: (A) Jesus Paid It All – Elvina Hall & Alex Nafong

A long look at the Gospel, this song speaks of being met while in weakness by a Savior. All to Him I owe.

Song #4: (E) How Deep the Father’s Love For Us – Stuart Townend

Further reflection on the Gospel and the cross in particular. It was not an ambiguous thing that led to the death of Christ, it was my sin. I contributed to His suffering, yet I have been forgiven and given a share in His reward. It is a love I cannot understand.

Closing Song: (A) Your Name – Paul Baloche & Glenn Peckiam

If I am trying to evaluate my priorities it is essential for me to determine what is important. Shelter and salvation are two good places to start.

I’ve been playing through this list quite a bit. I’m looking forward to practicing on Saturday and the service on Sunday. Leading congregational singing is an honor and a privilege.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music, Spiritual, Worship Leading

Leave a Reply

