Checking In On April Fools Day

My research planning has kept me busy, so I have not be thinking many blog-worthy thoughts recently. Unless of course you want to be hit with a barrage of posts about root response to hypoxia and experimental designs. Here is a quick series of thoughts:

April Fools Day: I’m not a big fan of April Fools Day. I don’t think I’ve ever pulled an April Fools Day prank, it’s not my style. I found the Gmail Motion video and motion chart funny this morning, especially the random phrases on the motion chart (“. . .who’s going to water my plants?”). Here at my blog WordPress spiked reported page views so that it appears that today my blog had 10x the page views it actually did. That seems like a cruel prank. Oh wow, look at all those page views! Oh wait, it’s April Fools Day, today was just an average day.

My Wilderness of Research Beard: Some attentive readers noticed that my page header graphic changed recently to reflect a beard. On Ash Wednesday I stopped shaving (not for Lent, it just happened to be that day). I call it my “wilderness of research beard.” One day I will get my experiments lined up and ready to go, and then the beard will die.

My wilderness of research beard.

 

 

 

 

 

Opening Day(s): The MLB season is underway! Opening Day is a holiday on my calendar, and that holiday turns into a doubleheader when the Phillies open their season on day two of the season. Yesterday I went to Champs with a friend (I will protect the individual’s identity in case said person would prefer not to be placed at a sports bar on a Thursday afternoon) to watch the Cincinnati Reds play the Milwaukee Brewers. The Brewers started the game with back-to-back home runs and led until the bottom of the 9th when they lost on a walk-off home run. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a game bookended with home runs before. Today I watched the Phillies defeat the Astros with a comeback win in the 9th. I am so happy baseball has returned.

Steven Seagall Busted a Chicken Fighting Ring with a Tank

Seriously. I saw this story earlier this week in the Phoenix News and it made me smile (Story). I hope he dropped a one liner on the criminal when he rolled up in the tank. Check out this quote from a confused neighbor: “When the tank came in and pushed the wall over and you see what’s in there, and all it is, is a bunch of chickens.” Excellent.

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

