Bacon-Parmesan Biscuits

A recipe for bacon-parmesan biscuits caught my eye as I flipped through The Bacon Cookbook. I must try this. So verily it came to pass that my Friday evening entertainment involved culinary capers.

The recipe began with frying and crumbling a half pound of bacon. I decided to improvise. Several months ago I read a blog post that spoke of wonderful things, things like dusting bacon with pepper and brown sugar and baking it. I must try this. So I did.

Pour some sugar on me.

It turns out baking bacon with pepper and brown sugar is a good idea. This did not surprise me. I crumbled the bacon, then went about combining flour, shortening, baking powder, salt, cayenne pepper, milk, and a Parmesan cheese mix.

You knead me.

I decided to try a few different approaches to forming and baking the biscuits. I used a glass to cut traditional round biscuits, but I also rolled some into balls like cookie dough. I used one tray greased lightly with shortening, and I used the tray that I had baked the bacon on (which had a sheen of bacon grease on it).

Take your pick.

My verdict is that the dough rolled into balls and baked on bacon grease came out the best (the biscuit on the left in the picture above). They sacrifice a bit of formality in appearance, but it translates to a doughier and fluffier biscuit. However, with bacon biscuits–as is in vogue in youth sports right now–they’re all winners.

Bacon-Parmesan Biscuits

I like this recipe, though I’ll definitely make some adjustments next time. I’ll use a thicker bacon with less fat, more cayenne pepper, and attempt to be less kneady. I’ve also been wondering if an herb or two, like basil or oregano, might be a good addition.

At the bottom of the recipe is a note that they store in an airtight container for two weeks. Ha! These things will be lucky to survive two days.

4 Comments

Filed under Food

4 responses to “Bacon-Parmesan Biscuits

  1. Paul B

    Do you have pic of the baked bacon? I’d like to see that.

    • I do not. I regret neglecting to take one. I think I could have used more brown sugar than I did (my supply was low so I used all I had). I’m confident that brown sugared and peppered bacon will be returning to my kitchen sometime soon.

  2. Carol (that's Mom, to you) : )

    You have been signed up to make your biscuits for our Easter meal….

Leave a Reply

