Planning, Bacon, and a Movie

I’m in the middle of the spring-is-approaching whirlwind that strikes researchers tied to the growing season. The warming of the weather comes with a chilling realization,  I need to finalize my experimental designs NOW. So I am scrambling to do just that. The circuitous path I took through my comprehensive exam has me about three months behind schedule right now. I’ve been reading articles, sketching experimental designs, and investigating data collection techniques and tools. The “big idea” that I’ve been chasing has been elusive. At times I can almost see it, but then it’s gone.

Here are a couple of things that happened over the past week that were not work related:

I received a bacon cookbook 

Some friends gave me James Villas’ The Bacon Cookbook (thanks Mark and Nikki!). It contains a wealth of information about bacon, more than 150 recipes, and excellent photography. I’m planning to use this cookbook as a coffee table book as well, the pictures are that good. I have not had time to try any recipes yet, though I have selected quite a few to try as soon as possible. One slightly mind bending thing that this cookbook introduced me to is the concept of of dicing bacon before frying it when a recipe calls for diced bacon. That thought had never occurred to me. It makes so much sense.

I’m sure this cookbook will inspire blog posts.

I went to the dollar theater

I don’t go to the theater often. Before last week the most recent film I had seen on the big screen was The Maltese Falcon (not on it’s opening weekend, mind you, but it was still about a year ago). Last week I saw The Fighter. It was the first time I’ve gone to a dollar theater. Some days I might have been critical of how the movie ended, but on that particular day the ending was fitting.

The theater was less than 1/4 full for the film. I was sitting on the far right end of the group of people I went with, leaving a one seat buffer to my right between me and the stranger sitting beside me (a young woman, she quickly placed her purse on that seat). Right before the movie started one more person joined our group, requiring me to move one seat over. As she moved her purse, allowing me to move over a seat, the stranger gave me a look that said: in this empty theater you’re really going to sit directly beside me? Really? You couldn’t pick another row? I replied with: “I’m sorry.” She had no idea how genuine that apology was.

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

