Professionally Tuned

Someone emailed me something that made me think recently.

Over the past six months I’ve been casually looking for an acoustic guitar to use an everyday instrument. My beloved Aria AW-110 is nearing retirement. Its frets are deeply worn and its bridge is separating from its body. My Martin remains cased, and my Ovation is stored in my lab, so they are not suitable replacements.

Acoustic guitars are posted on Craigslist relatively frequently. People get a guitar with every intention of learning to play it, discover it’s more difficult than they thought, and then try to sell the instrument (or in State College sometimes guitarists just need beer money so they sell off a guitar). Sadly, most people ask ridiculously high prices. I’ve corresponded with numerous sellers to get more information about listed guitars. One of the responses I got made me laugh. Not just a chuckle, but a real laugh.

The seller had listed a guitar but failed to mention what model it was. I asked. The response confirmed that it was a cheap entry level instrument I had no interest in. But then the seller said this. You don’t want to miss out on this guitar! I just had the strings changed and professionally tuned.

To a  guitarist that is a crazy statement. First, it does not take any special skill to tune a guitar. Second, new strings go out of tune very quickly until they have been stretched out, so an initial tuning means nothing. Third, guitars go out of tune quickly when they are transported in the winter, so by the time the guitar returned from the music store (or professional tuner’s establishment) it was out of tune.

So it made me laugh. Then it made me think. How often do I obliviously say things that are this ignorant to others?

Sobering.

I did not buy the guitar. I’m still looking.

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

