SCEFC Set List: March 6, 2011

I’ll be serving as the worship leader at State College E-Free Church this coming Sunday. The passage for the morning is Psalm 32, with an emphasis on confession and forgiveness. When I think about confessing sin and and receiving forgiveness the first thing that comes to my mind is the Gospel. The wages of sin is death, yet we have hope.

Prelude: (A) Our God – Chris Tomlin | Jesse Reeves | Jonas Myrin | Matt Redman

As I read over the lyrics of this song I was reminded that our God is for us and our God is with us. When we have things to confess, sin that entangles us, it sometimes feels that God wants nothing to do with us. But these feelings are not valid.  Our God is a healer.

Song #1: (A) You Are God Alone – Billy Foote | Cindy Foote

When I get caught up in defining my relationship with God by the way I feel about myself bad things happen. This song is reminder that God doesn’t need anything I can give Him, yet He is worthy of everything I can give.

Song #2: (D) Once Again – Matt Redman

Here our attention focuses on the Gospel. Despite being worthy of everything we can give, God continues to give to us. Emmanuel, God with us. In an act of love we cannot comprehend Jesus suffered, died, and rose from the dead to offer us forgiveness. How can we be anything but humbled and broken in response to that?

Song #3: (A) Nothing but the Blood – Matt Redman

This song addresses atonement. The blood of Christ stands in our defense, it allows us to be friends of God. What a beautiful thought.

Song #4: (E) Here I Am to Worship – Tim Hughes

I’ll never know the price of my sin. That debt has been paid. In response to the message of the Gospel, to the love of Christ, it is fitting to use words such as lovely and wonderful.

Closing: (D) The Wonderful Cross – Isaac Watts | Jesse Reeves| Chris Tomlin | J.D. Walt | Lowell Mason

At the close of the service we pause to remember the power of the Gospel once more. Love so amazing, so divine, demands my soul, my life, my all. In the first verse I love the line “. . . pour contempt on all my pride.”

It has been good to reflect on the Gospel this week as I prepared the set list. I hope that these songs are encouraging to the people of SCEFC.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music, Spiritual, Worship Leading

Leave a Reply

