A Therapeutic Afternoon

This afternoon I went to one of my experiment sites to clean things up and prepare for the winter. The main task at hand was disassembling the irrigation lines. My work recently has has had me tied to a desk, so the opportunity to get outside was welcomed.

rock_springs_oct10

It was a wonderful afternoon. The sun was shining, the temperature was perfect, the trees along the neighboring ridge were in their fall glory. As I took things apart, stacked stuff, and moved parts to storage I soaked in the moment. After all the work I’ve been doing lately with statistical analyses and scientific writing it was positively glorious to focus on manual labor.

rock_springs_oct10bMore work remains at the site. The surviving firs will be tossed, the soil dumped, and the boxes moved to storage. That’s a project for next week. I can’t believe my 2010 round of experiments is almost completely history.

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

