Avalon, NJ Revisited

Today marked my first day back to reality after a long weekend vacation (if a Thursday afternoon through Monday afternoon vacation can still be called a weekend). Most of that time I spent in Avalon, NJ at a beach house with family.

The Avalon, NJ beach house.

The house was on the corner of 66th and Dune, a block from the beach. This was the third consecutive year we stayed in this house the last weekend in September, so it felt very familiar. From the second floor of the house the Atlantic Ocean can be seen. On Friday and Saturday night the moon was spectacular sight over the water (I have no idea why I didn’t try to photograph it).

The view from the second floor on Monday morning.

Over the course of the weekend we frolicked on the beach, biked around town, played tennis, kayaked in the bay, ate a large amount of food, held a baptism service, observed communion, watched movies, and enjoyed catching up with each other. It was a good time.

The second floor has a high ceiling and columns. Yes, that was random.

I realized recently that I do not have any pictures with my niece, Lydia. So on Monday I attempted to have a picture taken. Lydia was feeling serious, she refused to crack a smile. This is as close to a smile as I got:

Sometimes smiles are just not in the cards.

My nephew Zander was happy to smile, but he had far too much energy to hold still. We got one picture in which we’re both looking at the camera.

This pose was held for about .3 second.

Just as Monday morning was ending I hit the road bound for State College, a trip that took 5 hours and 12 minutes. I drove through two rain storms of impressive intensity, visibility was very low at times. As the rain was assaulting my car I couldn’t help but be happy that I was getting a free car wash. Any salt water residue that might have wanted to linger on my car from being near the beach was long gone by the time I reached Centre County.

Now that I am back I have a lot of work on my plate. I feel somewhat refreshed and ready to go, here’s to a few very productive days ahead.

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

