A Few Quick Thoughts

Cindy Lou Hoo grows up

[picapp align=”right” wrap=”false” link=”term=taylor+momsen&iid=5023193″ src=”http://view.picapp.com/pictures.photo/image/5023193/grinch-day-los-angeles/grinch-day-los-angeles.jpg?size=500&imageId=5023193″ width=”118″ height=”177″ /]I was watching some footage of bands and interviews from the 2010 Warped Tour recently when I heard a name I recognized. Taylor Momsen. At first I couldn’t place where I knew that name from (it was not from Gossip Girl, I’ve never watched the show and I had no idea she was involved with it). And then it struck me. Taylor Momsen played Cindy Lou Hoo in the live action Grinch movie.

[picapp align=”left” wrap=”false” link=”term=taylor+momsen&iid=9765622″ src=”http://view2.picapp.com/pictures.photo/image/9765622/john-galliano-new-perfume/john-galliano-new-perfume.jpg?size=500&imageId=9765622″ width=”190″ height=”285″ /] Taylor is fronting the band The Pretty Reckless, and from what I gathered from the interview living a rock star’s life. The music I heard them play didn’t sound bad, though there’s a definite creepy vibe about a bunch of middle-aged guys playing in a band with a teenage girl. Here’s a link to their most recent music video, Miss Nothing.

Thinking about the adorable little Cindy Lou Hoo, then watching this movie, makes me terrified of ever having a daughter.

The Beast in the East

The Phillies just finished a sweep of the Atlanta Braves, meaning they’ve now won 10 straight games and have a six game lead (the magic number is 4). I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, it is fun to follow a winning baseball team. Tonight as I watched the Phils complete the sweep I reflected on the bad teams I’ve followed over the years. It occurred to me that I’ll be talking about this team for the rest of my life (I remember back in 2010 when the Phillies had so many injuries throughout the season, but still held off the Braves to win the NL East in Bobby Cox’s final season. At the end of the year the top of the rotation was Roy Halladay [who threw a perfect game that year], Cole Hamels, and Roy Oswalt. . .)

A packed gas station

This evening I intended to fuel up my car. When I pulled into the gas station I noticed all eight pumps were full, and there were cars waiting to fill up spread haphazardly all over the parking lot. A pump opened up and two cars almost hit my car trying to race to the pump. So I left. A packed gas station is a crazy place.

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

