Peanut Butter Bacon Cookies

Back in February a friend sent me a link to a recipe for peanut butter bacon cookies (thanks Leslie!). I filed the recipe away for a later date. Today was that later date.

When a recipe starts with frying and dicing six strips of bacon it’s difficult not to be optimistic.

The hardest part of dicing bacon is not eating it.

The batter is a mixture of peanut butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar, baking soda, and an egg. It seems very simple. I felt like I was forgetting something.

Baconed-up batter.

The recipe called for a cookie sheet greased with butter. I used parchment paper instead (the only way to make cookies). I wonder what difference butter might have made to the cookies?

Raw peanut butter bacon cookie recruits.

When the cookies emerged from the oven they looked impressive. They were a bit crumbly, I had to be very careful not to break them into pieces. To deal with this I lifted the parchment and transferred it with its cargo to the counter to cool instead of removing each cookie with a thin spatula.

The finished product.

When the cookies had cooled slightly I poured a glass of milk and sampled my handiwork. Not bad. Not bad at all. Peanut butter flavor dominated, the bacon was rather subtle (though impossible to miss). When paired with milk the cookie was very good, I suspect it would taste a bit dry by itself.

In their warm state the cookies crumbled quite readily. I wonder if using butter on the sheets would have prevented that? After cooling completely they became more stable, and I was impressed at how moist the centers were.

I’ll give this recipe a thumbs up. You might want to try these yourself.

3 Comments

Filed under Food

3 responses to “Peanut Butter Bacon Cookies

  1. kateintheshade

    I would not complain at all if you brought these to our next Life Group.

    In fact, I might have to hack into Paul’s food assignment document to do a little bit of tweaking…

    • Hmmm, maybe a bacon-themed dessert night is needed? I could make a couple batches of these and the modified maple bacon fudge recipe I’ve been wanting to try out. That might not work for our next meeting though, I think I’ll be getting back into town in the nick of time for LG (leaving no time for baking).

      • kateintheshade

        Bacon-themed dessert night sounds pretty good to me.
        I’ll mention it to Paul that you will be coming in just in time for LG so he can either put you on for drinks or give you a break.

Leave a Reply

