SCEFC Set List (August 8, 2010)

On Sunday I’ll be serving as the worship leader at State College E-Free Church. The theme for the morning is Every Spiritual Blessing, based on Ephesians 1:3-14. In this passage Paul writes about God choosing and blessing us in Christ. I read over that passage several times late last week and early this week and developed a set list. I heard from Pastor Keith later this week–he was letting me know the main points of his sermon and requesting a song of response after the message–so I modified the list accordingly.

Prelude: (G) Holy is the Lord – Chris Tomlin & Louie Giglio

The Ephesians passage starts with “Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ. . .” So the singing time begins with a song praising God. He is holy and glorious.

I’ve been playing around with an instrumental beginning for this song that uses a I, IV, V, IVMaj7, IIIb, VIIb, I progression (I must admit it was inspired by John Mayer’s instrumental in the song Heartbreak Warfare, no shame in that). At this point I have no idea if it will be used or not.

Song #1: (G) No One Like You – David Crodwer et al.

The role Christ plays in our redemption is spelled out clearly in Ephesians 1. It is through His blood that we have redemption and through Him that we have received spiritual blessings too wonderful to even comprehend. It leads to the question, “How could You be so good to me?”

Song #2: (G) King of Grace – Mark Altrogge

Sometimes I am tempted to focus on my effort and desire to praise God and find safety. This song serves as a reminder that I am saved by grace. May I rest in His love and allow Him to perfect my praise.

Song #3: (A) Jesus Paid It All – Elvina Hall & Alex Nafong

Here we continue the theme of being saved by grace and offering praise in response.

Response Song: (D) Amazing Grace (My Chains Are Gone) John Newton, Chris Tomlin, & Louie Giglio

Immediately following the message the passage from Ephesians will be read again. As that ends we sing this song as a response. Pastor Keith recommended this song, and I think it will be very fitting.

Closing Song: (A) Mighty to Save – Reuben Morgan & Ben Fielding

After hearing about God’s plan to save us us and bless us through Christ we offer praise to the Author of salvation (in this song the phrasing implies that Christ is the Author of salvation, which ties into a passage from Hebrews, yet in the context of the Ephesians passage it seems God the Father also deserves the title).

In the afternoon we are having an outdoor baptism service, so I’ll be putting together a short set (probably just two song) to lead poolside as well. I’m planning to decide on those songs later tonight.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music, Spiritual, Worship Leading

Leave a Reply

