SCEFC Set List (July 25, 2010)

On Sunday I will be serving as the worship leader at State College e-Free Church. The sermon theme has something to do with connecting with the lost. I try to make the Gospel prevalent in any set list I put together. As I see it, the time we spend singing corporately should be a time dedicated to stating theological truth and praising God. We are called to love God and love our neighbors. Our love for God–and seeing His love for us–should motivate us to extend love to others. So I put together a set list that starts with the Gospel and emphasizes sharing the Gospel toward the end.

Prelude: (G) King of Grace – Mark Altrogge

This song speaks of our standing before God. It talks of love, grace, and sacrifice. As far as I know this will be a new song to State College E-Free, so I decided to use it as a prelude instead of as part of the main set.

Song #1: (E) Nothing But the Blood – Robert Lowry

The main set starts with a reflection on the sacrifice of Christ and what it means to us: pardon, cleansing, wholeness, hope, peace, and righteousness.

Song #2: (A) You Are God Alone – Billy Foote & Cindy Foote

I like that this song acknowledges that God does not need us. Despite this He still uses us, and He is “worthy of everything we can give.” When I get fixated on the here and now (and on myself) it is helpful to think about God’s place in history.

Song #3: (A) Your Name – Paul Baloche & Glenn Packiam

At the end of the chorus we have a reminder that “nothing has the power to save but Your name.” It’s not about our effort. The praises we sing are inspired by God. As we attempt to live for Him we ask for strength to bring Him glory.

Song #4: (Bm) Desert Song – Brooke Fraser

In tough times we need to remember that God is our victory. Yet we are called to do more than just hold on to this. “I know I’m filled to be emptied again, the seed I’ve received I will sow.” Sharing hope with others begins with awareness of the hope we have.

Closing: (Em) To the Ends of the Earth – Joel Houston & Marty Sampson

This song contains a grand promise “Jesus I believe in You and I would go to the ends of the earth.” I see this as less of a statement about making travel plans and more as a statement about surrendering control. Themes in the song include having our hearts overtaken by the unfailing love of God. Finding peace in that love. Being called to share the Gospel. Losing ourselves in the promise we have received. Looking to a day when the entire world will see who Jesus really is.

1 Comment

Filed under Music, Spiritual, Worship Leading

One response to “SCEFC Set List (July 25, 2010)

  1. Jon

    I’m loving this set-list. I lead all of these except for You are God Alone. And that is a song I would like to learn. If you get a chance could you send me the chart.
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

