Chipotle Chicken Cheesesteaks

A few weeks ago my Mom brought a recipe for Chipotle Chicken Cheesesteaks to my attention. I thought it looked interesting, so I decided to give it a shot. I followed the spirit of the recipe, but not the exact directions. Here’s what it looked like.

I started by sautéing  half a red pepper, half a Vidalia onion, one clove of garlic, and some fresh thyme in a bit of oil.

With sautéed vegetables thyme-ing is everything.

Next I cut approximately 12 ounces of chicken into strips and pan fried it a bit of oil.

Nothing like a good Maillard reaction.

I combined the chicken and sautéed vegetables, then added about 10 ounces of Wegman’s Roasted Chipotle Salsa. I also added some cracked black pepper and chili powder for good measure. I let this mixture simmer for several minutes.

Simmer on sweet chicken o' mine.

Finally I added the cheeses: cheddar, Monterey Jack, and white American.

At this point all hope of calling it a healthy entrée was lost.

The slurry of chicken, cheese, and vegetables ended up in two steak rolls. I added some black pepper and sea salt kettle chips and dinner was served.

Chipotle Chicken cheesesteaks in repose.

I think this is a solid recipe, though the name cheesesteak belongs nowhere near it (especially if you follow the myrecipes.com version). I’ll probably make it again. In the future I also plan to try a version without cheese that contains black beans, which would be served over rice.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

