Laundry Room Etiquette

For many years I took an in-house washer and dryer for granted. Now I find myself in a situation where I am forced to use an apartment complex laundry room. Most times I do my laundry at odd times in an attempt to avoid washing congestion. Tonight I was forced to do a load of laundry during  peak early evening hours. And I faced a dilemma.

The laundry room I use has eight washers and eight dryers. On this fine evening people were doing laundry and not arriving promptly to remove their laundry when the washer or dryer finished running.

So that is my dilemma. What is the etiquette for removing unattended laundry? I am very reluctant to handle the laundry of a stranger. I’ll normally extend a grace period of 10-15 minutes.

Tonight that grace period ran out. However the dryer that was finished did not have a laundry basket sitting by it. And it also happened to be a load of undergarments that did not belong to a dude (at least I highly doubt it). Awkward.

I elected not to remove that load of laundry. I waited for 35 minutes before another dryer finished and the load was picked up. The tardy undergarment-washing woman never showed up.

So how long should you wait before removing unattended laundry? How do you handle unattended laundry that is not paired with a basket?

Something tells me hanging the items up on the community bulletin board in the laundry room would have been rewarding, but not the right thing to do.

3 Comments

Filed under General

3 responses to “Laundry Room Etiquette

  1. Anonymous

    You made me laugh out loud with your closing paragraph. And of course, I am amused as I think of you daintily hanging up the offending garments for all to see. Gives new meaning to the words “public hanging”!

  2. Bernie Jacabella

    Guess I should have identified myself with the previous comment that I sent so you don’t think some annonymous person is stalking you! It is just your old aunt, after all.

Leave a Reply

