The 2010 Raging Chlorophyll

Laster Saturday afternoon I drafted my fantasy baseball team, known as the Raging Chlorophyll. I’m in a twelve team 5×5 head-to-head league. This year I drafted out of the third position.

Round.  (Overall Pick)  Player, Team – Position

1. (3) Hanley Ramirez, Fla – SS
2. (22) Adrian Gonzalez, SD – 1B
3. (27) Jayson Werth, Phi – OF
4. (46) Adam Wainwright, StL – SP
5. (51) Mark Reynolds, Ari – 3B
6. (70) Shin-Soo Choo, Cle – OF
7. (75) Hunter Pence, Hou – OF
8. (94) Ubaldo Jimenez, Col – SP
9. (99) Jake Peavy, CWS – SP
10. (118) Jason Kubel, Min – OF
11. (123) Brian Wilson, SF – RP
12. (142) Tim Hudson, Atl – SP
13. (147) Ian Stewart, Col – 2B
14. (166) Jorge Cantu, Fla – 3B
15. (171) Frank Francisco, Tex – RP
16. (190) Kyle Blanks, SD – OF
17. (195) Bengie Molina, SF – C
18. (214) Hideki Matsui, LAA – DH
19. (219) Edwin Jackson, Ari – SP
20. (238) Johnny Cueto, Cin – SP
21. (243) Orlando Cabrera, Cin – SS
22. (262) Ryan Madson, Phi – RP
23. (267) Carlos Ruiz, Phi – C

I’m not sure how I feel about my team yet. During my pre-draft planning I settled on taking Alex Rodriguez with my first pick. When Hanley Ramirez became available after Chase Utley was picked second I decided to improvise.

Before the draft began I gave up on Chase Utley, Ryan Howard, Roy Halladay, Shane Victorino, and Jimmy Rollins. I was just not in the proper position to draft any of them. I made my primary Phillie target Jayson Werth (and got him). My secondary Phillie target was was Placido Polanco (I didn’t get him, I thought he would go later in the draft).

During the 18th and 19th rounds of the draft my internet connection failed, resulting in the Matsui and Jackson picks. I’m not a fan of either player.

Last year I was thrilled after the draft. I loved my team. I then promptly had my worst fantasy baseball season ever.

This year I am cautiously optimistic. . .

4 Comments

Filed under Sports

4 responses to “The 2010 Raging Chlorophyll

  1. Jules

    I’m happy with my team so far – I’m looking forward to a fun season.

    P.S. – Utley says hi!

    • One year I will have Chase on my team. He and Raul Ibanez are the only members of the current Phillies’ starting 8 that I have never had on my team.

      My team is hitting the ball out of the park, which is a good sign. Early indications are that I will be plagued with a low batting average again.

  2. Sara

    How did you manage to get a Beach Boy? I’m so jealous:)

Leave a Reply

